Ode to Domino

10 Nov

Like so many others, I love Domino and miss seeing it on newsstands every month or two. Go on any design blog or check out any design blogger’s home tour, and you’re bound to see old issues of the magazine sitting around and the Domino book situated front and center somewhere in one of the pictures, usually on a coffee table nestled among a tray or stacked on top of other design-related books with a paperweight or some other sculptural element sitting on top. My copy is sitting on a bookshelf with my other design and art books. It seems you can’t be a design blogger without one.

So with that in mind, I drew this, my first Ode to Domino based on the colors of the book. It’s sort of a synopsis of all the homes I’ve seen that have this book prominently on display. There are many other variations that I’m sure I’ll draw someday, but this is the first.

(Note: The colors are coming in really funky on my screen, but I assure you the seafoam green and pink used in the drawing match the cover of the book.)

Leave a Reply

