Portrait of a Lady

21 Jun

Long before I mentioned it, my wish list has included having a pet portrait of our cat, Smoky, done by Yellow Brick Home. I pretty much fell in love with this talented duo’s work from the moment I saw it. So about a week and a half ago, I finally ordered my own custom piece, and it arrived today!


If I had to describe Smoky in one word, I would say that she’s amazingly sweet (OK, that’s two, but she’s seriously the sweetest cat ever), and I wanted that sweetness captured in the 4 x 4–inch portrait. That’s undoubtedly a pretty tall order, but Kim and Scott (the Yellow Brick Home team) nailed it and captured her sweet face perfectly.

And y’all, they’re so prompt. An hour or so (maybe not even that long) after I placed my order, I had an email from them giving me the details of what they needed to get started. I inundated them with pictures and information about Smoky like any proud pet parent would do, and they got back to me quickly with further information and questions. In addition to being speedy, they’re superfriendly (just like they seem from their blog) with a genuine enthusiasm for pets and capturing the personality of each of their animal subjects.

The portraits are $39 each (plus the cost of shipping), which is pretty amazing for a one-of-a-kind custom piece of art. I am so thrilled with what they created for me and whole-heartedly recommend them! Go here for more information and to peruse their portfolio of adorable portraits.

I was in no way compensated for this review. I just wanted to share the fantastic experience I had with these übertalented people.

Leave a Reply

