Living Room

23 Jun

Of all the rooms in this house, the living room has had the slowest evolution. It started out with the same beige walls as many of the other rooms (seen here and here) in the house. On a casual first glance, the new color (Valspar’s Oatlands Subtle Taupe in flat, which we also used in the bathroom) might not appear that different from the old one, but the end result is a vast improvement. The old was a neutral with more brown/pink undertones, and this is decidedly more gray, which I’m all about. Here’s the room in it’s current state:


You’ll notice that the wish-list chairs were purchased and have arrived. I love their modern shape, tapered brown legs, and happy apple green color. The two touching arms are a perfect perching/napping/neighborhood-viewing spot for Smoky.

The covers on all the sofa throw pillows are going to be replaced. (The green one in the green chair is staying.) I used them in my first solo apartment and my first home, and things are due for an update. The two orange ones will be recovered in the graphic turquoise fabric I mentioned here. I’m still searching for the perfect fabric for the other two. We shall see.

Here’s another angle:

That’s a whole lot of blank wall space, which is why I ordered these:

I’m kind of freaking out in a good way about all the colors—so many options! I’m not a painter (in the artistic sense), but I’ve been itching to create something big and colorful and graphic on a scale much larger than my colored pencils can handle. I know I want two relatively large canvases to hang side-by-side to create one large statement piece to fill that vast expanse of grayish-beige, and I plan to use lots of color. I have a few ideas in my head of what I want to paint. My plan is to just go with one and see what happens and if I’m feeling it. Results to come!

Leave a Reply

